MakwaCreative Logo

Flowers Mobile 1

Seven Truths"Berries


Seven Truths

Listen on audible


The Anishinaabe are guided by the Seven Grandfather Teachings - Love, Bravery, Humility, Wisdom, Honesty, Respect and Truth. In Seven Truths, we explore ​each teaching through my eyes, ​Anishinaabe storyteller, Tanya Talaga, ​and through the lives and experiences of people I’m proud to know. ​These truths, told through contemporary stories, help us find common ground here on Turtle Island, so that we can live together, justly.

grouped hard lines

Flowers Right 1 

Flowers Right 2

Flower Group 3 and 5

Flower Group 4

Flowers Mobile 2

Podcast Details

  • Written by: Tanya Talaga
  • Narrated by: Tanya Talaga
  • Length: 3 hrs and 37 mins
  • Release date: 2020-11-25
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Audible Originals


Flowers Mobile 3

About the 7 Truths Cover Art by Chief Lady Bird

The hummingbirds represent resilience. They go to each flower and take out the sweetness, much like how we take the sweetness from each Teaching. What’s special about this is that it’s not about trauma (regarding resilience) but it’s about thriving and connecting. 

The dusky blue sky with stars represents our ancestors and the star people, with seven flowers for the Seven Teachings, and thirteen berries to represent the thirteen moons.

Flowers Mobile 4

About the Creator

Tanya Talaga is an Anishinaabe author and journalist. Her first book, Seven Fallen Feathers, is a national bestseller, winning the RBC Taylor Prize, the Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing, and the First Nation Communities Read Award: Young Adult/Adult. It was also a finalist for the Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Nonfiction Prize and the BC National Award for Nonfiction.

Flower Group 3 and 5

Flower Group 6